Pat Caddell:
The Election - My Prediction

THIS MONTH: The biggest supermoon in living memory to an array of shooting stars

A guide to the spectacular events that will fill the skies this month   This month will see two meteor showers and the chance to see planets, a supermoon and a nebula

It will be closer to the planet than it has been since 1948, and this month's full moon is set to be the biggest supermoon in living memory. People will be treated to the once-in-a-lifetime sight on the 14th of the month, when the full moon will appear 14 per cent larger and 30 per cent brighter than normal. Not only this, but the skies will be filled with an unusual combination of spectacular sights throughout the whole of November, ranging from planets to meteor showers. With this MailOnline guide to this month's night sky, you'll know exactly what to search for this month when you gaze up at the stars.

Because our satellite will be closer to the planet than it has been since 1948, it is going to look much larger in the sky than normal. An image of the supermoon by Albert Dros made possible by pin-sharp resolution and defocusing capabilities of Sony¿s 70-200 G Master lens

 

WHAT IS A SUPERMOON? 

Supermoons are new or full moons that occur when the orbit of the moon brings it particularly close to Earth.

For this reason, it appears to be bigger than normal - by about 10 per cent.

We usually get between four and six supermoons a year, but this November is special because the moon will be closer to Earth than at any time this century, and we won't get as near again until 2034.

During the event, it will appear up to 14 per cent bigger and 30 per cent brighter than an average full moon. 

The moon will reach the crest of its full phase on November 14 at 1352 UTC. 

That translates to 9:52 a.m. AST, 8:52 a.m. EST, 7:52 a.m. CST, 6:52 a.m. MST, 5:52 a.m. PST. 

14 NOVEMBER: BIGGEST SUPERMOON IN LIVING MEMORY

Supermoons are new or full moons that occur when the orbit of the moon brings it particularly close to Earth.

For this reason, it appears to be bigger than normal - by about 10 per cent. 

We usually get between four and six supermoons a year, but this November is special because the moon will be closer to Earth than at any time this century, and we won't get as near again until 2034. 

It is not only the closest full moon of 2016 but also the closest full moon to date in the 21st century. 

It will happen in the morning hours before sunrise in western North America and the Pacific islands to the east of the International Date Line.

During the event, it will appear up to 14 per cent bigger and 30 per cent brighter than an average full moon. 

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3898740/From-biggest-supermoon-living-memory-array-shooting-stars-guide-spectacular-events-skies-month.html#ixzz4P2ic1MHx 

Comments